en
  • Ru
  • En
Official hashtag #FORMULATX

MARIN CILIC: «I JUST KEPT PLAYING AND THE CHANCE PRESENTED ITSELF»

28.10.2021, 22:05 #Interview #News #Best

In today’s match you were down 1/4, Karen was probably playing very good tennis, not the best of his career, but very good tennis. And you were kind of down. Where did you find your source of inspiration? Maybe the dancing girls inspired you during the changeover?

No it wasn’t the dancing girls (laughter). I was also 15:30 down on my serve at 4/1 down. I just stayed focused and continued to play my own game and continued with a good level. I thought: “If Karen plays great next two games – ok, well done, great match”. But I kept hanging in there, which was amazing. I was feeling that I might get a chance. It’s definitely not easy to turn the tide of the match after 2 hours or even 2 h 15 mins that we already played. I got the chance and I took it and played really good. I have to say that I absolutely earned it. In the end that was the difference in making one or two balls at those critical points. It could have been him, who could win the match and I wouldn’t be surprised. It was a very close match.

How did you find your range at your serve at 15:30? It looks like your serve was kind of shaky at this moment?

I actually found good rhythm in those few points, at first I lost a few points, but I think I hit an ace after that. Then a few good serves, 4/2 and the pressure transferred back to Karen, but I have to say looking at the match as a whole, the level was great. Both sides. In the first set we were playing amazing tennis. Karen plays 3 amazing points and, then ok, makes 2 double faults to lose the first set, these things can happen sometimes. But overall it was a great set, he didn’t play anything bad up to that point and in the second set it was again good tennis. One break for him, I came back, he played an amazing tie-break. The level was very high even if I would lose today, I would be disappointed, sure, but still I would know that I played a great match.

As far as we know one of your coaches is Vedran Martić and he was also the coach of Karen Khachanov a few years ago. Did you speak with him, did he help you today?

Unfortunately I stopped working with Vedran a month and a half ago, so we didn’t speak about the match and I just spoke with my coach Vilim Visak over here but I know that they worked together. It was a great combination, the two of them. I respect Karen so much, he is a great guy and we often practiced together. Today I won but, as I mentioned, the match was very high quality.

You became a father in September for the second time, so the question is about kids: how is the older one taking the younger one? And maybe the older one has already developed any interests in sports – maybe even in tennis?

Thank you for bringing this up. My older son Baldo when his brother Vito came back home from the hospital for the first time was just kissing him and we brought presents to Baldo saying that they are from Vito so they already get into a relationship with each other quite good. But he loves him as it is, he is always adoring him and wants to hold him. Baldo loves tennis when he was with me in Stuttgart for the tournament over there we had a big players’ lounge with table tennis, basketball, football, fitness balls and he was so much in awe fascinated with the balls. When we got home he played everything with the ball, football or tennis and so he loves hitting balls and balloons. And he has good coordination.

Title sponsor

Official partnes

General media partners

С  24 ПО 31 ОКТЯБРЯ 2021 ГОДА НА КСК «СИБУР АРЕНА

ru
  • Ru
  • En
TV эфир Радио
Официальный хештег #FORMULATX

МАРИН ЧИЛИЧ: «Я ПРОСТО ПРОДОЛЖАЛ ИГРАТЬ, И ШАНС МНЕ ПРЕДСТАВИЛСЯ»

Поделитесь секретом, что послужило источником вдохновения для вас, когда вы проигрывали 1/4. Карен играл пусть и не в лучший теннис в своей карьере, но играл очень хорошо, а вы немного подсели. Что произошло? Может быть, танцующие девушки при смене сторон вас вдохновили?

Да нет, конечно же, это были не девушки (смеется). Я, кстати, проигрывал 15:30 при счете 1/4 на своей подаче. Я просто сконцентрировался и решил продолжать играть. Я подумал, что если Карен возьмет следующие два гейма и выиграет, пусть будет так, это все равно будет хороший матч. Очень сложно изменить ход игры, после 2 часов 15 минут упорной борьбы. Я просто продолжал играть и надеялся на шанс, и этот шанс мне представился. Я воспользовался этим шансом, хорошо сыграл и смог выиграть этот поединок. Я совершенно точно заслужил эту победу, но на моем месте мог бы быть и Карен. В конце концов, разница лишь в том, чтобы забить один или два мяча в решающих моментах. Карен мог выиграть матч, и я бы этому не удивился. Это был очень равный матч.

Как вам удалось при счете 15:30 найти свою подачу снова, которая, кажется, в этот критический момент начала вас немного подводить?

Я нашел хороший ритм: сначала я проиграл несколько очков, а потом подал навылет, и следующая подача тоже была выигрышная. Потом я еще несколько раз удачно подал, счет стал 4/2, и уже Карен оказался под давлением. Но если посмотреть на весь матч в целом, то каждый из нас со своей стороны показывал очень сильную игру. В первом сете я хорошо играл, счет был 5/4, потом Карен выиграл три очка. Потом он совершил две двойные ошибки, но это с каждым может произойти. До этого момента во втором сете он играл прекрасно, потом выиграл тай-брейк, он играет на очень высоком уровне. Если бы я сегодня проиграл, я бы, конечно, расстроился, но в любом случае это был отличный матч сам по себе.

Насколько нам известно, один из ваших тренеров это Ведран Мартич, который также работал ранее с Кареном Хачановым. Вы обсуждали с ним сегодняшний матч?

К сожалению, мы с Ведраном прекратили сотрудничать чуть больше месяца назад, поэтому сегодня я обсуждал матч со своим тренером Вилимом Висаком. Но я знаю, что ранее Ведран работал с Кареном, что у них было плодотворное сотрудничество. Я очень уважаю Карена, он замечательно играет, и мы часто тренировались вместе. Хотя сегодня я победил, я считаю, что мы оба сегодня были на высоте, и это был серьезный матч.

В сентябре вы во второй раз стали отцом, поэтому вопрос касается детей. Как ваш старший сын отреагировал на появление нового члена семьи? И есть ли у старшего сына какие-то увлечения, может быть, он интересуется теннисом?

Спасибо вам большое за вопрос. Когда мы принесли домой младшего сына, старший сразу стал его целовать, обнимать. Мы купили подарки для Балдо, старшего сына, и сказали что они от младшего, чтобы у них сразу установились дружеские отношения. Но Балдо и так сразу его полюбил. Балдо очень нравится теннис. Когда мы с ним были на турнире в Штутгарте, то в комнате для игроков разместили множество разных игр с мячом – футбол, настольный теннис, баскетбол, фитнес мячи. Все это просто поразило Балдо, и дома он постоянно играл во все игры с мячом. Сейчас он обожает пинать мячи, воздушные шарики и у него хорошая координация. Думаю, у него большое будущее в спорте.

Последние новости Все новости

Титульный
спонсор

Официальные партнеры

Генеральные информационные
партнеры

Партнеры