• Ru
  • En
Official hashtag #FORMULATX


10.10.2020, 16:35 #News #Best

On October, 10 the official draw ceremony of the jubilee tennis 25th St. Petersburg Open was held on the center court of SIBUR ARENA.

Alexander Medvedev, general director of ATP St. Petersburg Open, Zenit FC director general, advisor to the general director of Gazprom Export, noticed in his welcoming speech three magical numbers: the year is 2020, the tournament category is ATP 500 (it’s the first time a tennis tournament of such a level is held in the history of Russian tennis) and, finally, it’s the 25th edition of the tournament. “The lineup is very strong, so we should modify the tournament slogan – instead of “It’s tennis time” we switch to “We still should go and watch tennis”.

Before the start of the draw Daniil Medvedev, the leader of the Russian men’s tennis and the reigning champion of the tournament, said he is glad the crowd can visit matches even though with some restrictions and promised to play well and show good tennis this week. In the opening round he will take on the French Richard Gasquet, the Croat Borna Coric, last year’s runner up of St. Petersburg Open, drеw a chip which determined the opponent of the Russian Medvedev. Coric himself will play the Spaniard Feliciano Lopez in R1.

The Russian Andrey Rublev, who has already won three titles this season, will face Vasek Pospisil from Canada.  Another Canadian,. Denis Shapovalov, will play his opening match against the American  Sam Querrey. Meanwhile the Russian Karen Khachanov will clash  with James Duckworth from Australia.

The Swiss Stan Wawrinka, runner up of St. Petersburg Open 2016 and 5th seed of the tournament, will square off with the Briton Daniel Evans. The champion of St. Petersburg Open 2015 Milos Raonic from Canada will play a qualifier.

The Russians Aslan Karatsev, Evgeny Donskoy, Roman Safiullin were handed wild cards from the organizers. The draw determined their opponents in R1 matches: Roman Safiullin will face a qualifier, Karatsev will play Tennys Sandgren from USA and Evgeny Donskoy will take on the Belorussian Egor Gerasimov, last year’s semifinalist. Alexander Bublik from Gatchina who now plays for Kazakhstan will take on the American Mackenzie McDonald.

Title sponsor

Official partnes

General media partners