#tennisagainstcoronavirus

en
  • Ru
  • En
  • 中文
Official hashtag #FORMULATX

BORNA CORIC: “ANDREY PLAYED SOME AMAZING TENNIS TODAY”

18.10.2020, 21:54 #News #Best

Congratulation not just on finishing second, but on your great game. You were playing terrifically well with one little glitch at 5-2 in the tie-break. What happened there? Just bad luck like Andrey said or something else?

Yes, I was a little bit unlucky I would say, but at the same time I don’t believe much in luck in tennis. He was just a better player today. He has shown a great tennis. I was a little bit unlucky there, I missed two or three shots that were very close during this match, but it’s a tennis, that’s how it goes. When I played against Milos Raonic I made some of them, there was one lucky netcord for me, so I can’t complain about that. I think I had a good level of tennis I was serving the best today at this tournament from my side at least. Like I said earlier, I lost to a better player today.

You have lost to Andrey Rublev before. What was your tactical plan for today’s match? What were you planning to use against him to beat him eventually?

I had some of my plans, which I was trying to do. I’m not going to go into details about that. But again it’s not easy to play any tactics against him, because he doesn’t give you a space to do anything. He plays very fast, serves unbelievably well, he improved his serves a lot. I had some tactic against him, but at the same time I felt like I couldn’t do it, as he was very fast. There were only a couple of times in the match when I was in control of the points, where I could do what I wanted to do with the point.

You are quite an experienced player despite being so young. How do you recover mentally from such regrettable loses for you? Are we going to see you next year so that you make a third attempt to finally claim the title here?

Tomorrow I’ll go home. I’m going to rest for one day and I’m going to be back on court on Wednesday morning – that’s the only and the easiest way I can recover from a tough loss. It was not easy today, but again there is not much I can do about it, I can only come back home and train even more, I can train harder. Next year I will come back for sure and hopefully I can win the title here.

You repeated your last year results at this tournament, the only difference is that you scored twice as many ranking points, because of the higher category of this tournament. Do you think it’s a good launching ground to maybe try to get back into the Top20 or even get into the Top10? How important is it for you to raise in the rankings?

It’s going to be a very good step for me. I think with this tournament I’m going to be world #23 or #24, I’m not sure. I have two or three tournaments to play until the end of the year. It’ll give me some confidence for these tournaments and hopefully I can play well there and I can stay healthy – that’s the most important for me now. As for the rankings, I would say I was more worried about it, when I was younger. Nowadays I’m more relaxed about it. I’m just trying to improve my game, I’m focused on the aspects of my game that I need to work on. I still see many things that I need to improve and I’m focused on it. Honestly, I’m not too worried about the rankings at the moment.

We asked many of your colleagues here in St. Petersburg about this. What is the first thing you are going to do when this nightmare with coronavirus is over and everything will be permitted to do. What will you do first of all?

I’m going to go to a night club.  I have not been out for a long time. It has been tough for me. I wanted to go out here in St. Petersburg as well but it is still very dangerous at this moment and I do not want to take this risk. I need to continue my season so I cannot go unfortunately. Next year – sure, you, guys, will tell me what night club in St. Petersburg is the best.

Title sponsor

Official partnes

General media partners

#тенниспротивкоронавируса

ru
  • Ru
  • En
  • 中文
TV эфир Радио
Официальный хештег #FORMULATX

БОРНА ЧОРИЧ: «АНДРЕЙ ПОКАЗЫВАЛ ПОТРЯСАЮЩИЙ ТЕННИС!»

Поздравляем вас не только со вторым местом, но и с отличным теннисом, который вы продемонстрировали, в том числе, в сегодняшнем матче. Вы показали прекрасный теннис сегодня — за исключением того момента, когда вы вели 5-2 на тай-брейке. Что произошло? Было ли это невезение для вас или везение Рублёва на корте? Что там произошло?

Может быть, мне немного не повезло при счете 5-2 на тай-брейке, но я не очень люблю полагаться на везение и верить в это. У меня было 3 очень близких мяча, я буквально чуть-чуть промахнулся, чуть-чуть ошибся, но так бывает в теннисе. В матче против Раонича мне немного повезло: там было удачное касание сетки. Такое бывает в теннисе: где-то тебе везет, где-то везет твоему сопернику. В целом Андрей победил заслужено, он был лучшим на корте сегодня.

У вас и до этого были поражения от Андрея. Какой у вас был тактический план игры против Андрея сегодня, чтобы его победить? Какие у него слабые стороны, которые вы хотели использовать на этом матче?

У меня, конечно, был тактический план на игру против него, но я не хочу вдаваться сейчас в детали этого плана. На самом деле у меня не было особых возможностей претворить этот план в жизнь, потому что, как я уже говорил, Андрей показывал потрясающий теннис. Он двигался по корту очень быстро, невероятно подавал. За весь матч у меня было всего пару моментов, когда я контролировал ход розыгрышей. План был, но не было возможности его реализовать на корте сегодня.

Вы достаточно опытный игрок. Как вы справляетесь с такими поражениями, долго ли от них отходите? Вернетесь ли в следующем году, чтобы попробовать все-таки выиграть титул?

На самом деле завтра я уже буду дома, а в среду с утра я уже преступлю к тренировкам – для меня это лучший способ восстановиться после досадных поражений. Да, сегодня было досадное поражение, но, во-первых, я ничего не могу изменить, и у меня нет другого выхода, кроме как больше и упорнее тренироваться, чтобы побеждать в будущем. Я совершенно точно хочу приехать сюда в следующем году и попробовать, наконец, выиграть этот титул.

Хоть вы и повторили прошлогодний результат, выйдя в финал, но получили вдвое больше очков в итоге (из-за того, что в этом году турнир серии ATP 500). Это неплохой плацдарм для возвращения в топ-20, а может быть и дальше. Насколько важно для вас сейчас подниматься в рейтинге? Насколько важно попробовать попасть в топ-10 в обозримые полгода?

По поводу рейтинга, могу сказать, что, наверное, после этого турнира я буду занимать 23-ю или 24-ю строчку рейтинга. Да, я пополню свой багаж очков. Мне осталось еще два-три турнира сыграть до конца года Благодаря этому результату моя уверенность повысилась, и я надеюсь, что она поможет мне побеждать на следующих турнирах. Что касается моего отношения к рейтингу и моего положения в нем, то когда я был моложе, я к этому относился серьезнее и придавал большее этому значение. Сейчас я к этому отношусь спокойнее. Для меня гораздо важнее качество моей игры, я больше сосредоточен на том, чтобы отрабатывать те элементы, которые требуют улучшения.

Борна, что вы будете делать тогда, когда все ограничения, связанные с коронавирусом, будут отменены? Какая будет первая вещь, которую вы сделаете?

Я с удовольствием схожу в ночной клуб. Я там не был очень давно. Сейчас из-за коронавируса туда нельзя попасть. Я бы и сейчас сходил здесь в Санкт-Петербурге, но это по-прежнему опасно, этого делать нельзя, поэтому если в следующем году никаких ограничений не будет, то я обязательно схожу здесь, в Санкт-Петербурге. Вы мне подскажите – какой самый лучший!

Последние новости Все новости

Титульный
спонсор

Официальные партнеры

Генеральные информационные
партнеры

Партнеры