October 24-31, SIBUR ARENA #tennisagainstcoronavirus

en
  • Ru
  • En
Official hashtag #FORMULATX

ANDREY RUBLEV: “WE PLAYED AT A VERY HIGH LEVEL WITH ILYA TODAY”

27.10.2021, 22:19 #Interview #News #Best

Did Ilya Ivashka create any problems for you in today’s match? Or was it a classic win with a score of 6/4, 6/4?

No, it was a very, very tough match. There were really long rallies already in the first game. The match was very nervous and emotional. In my opinion, we both played at a very high level. I don’t know what Ilya thinks about it, but I believe that we both played at a very high level. If I remember correctly, by the time the score was 3/2 in the first set we had been playing for half an hour already – it shows that the clash was very serious and we both fought for every point. I held breakpoints, he held breakpoints – we played the first set on an equal foot. We both had many chances. I was just a little bit luckier.

During the match, you had an unpleasant situation with one fan who supported Ivashka: at some point, he shouted and applauded so actively, when you made errors that you even had to come up to him and reprimand him. Could you tell us what happened there?

It was very odd: that fan was at the stands with a company, guess it eas hi girlfriend and both of them didn’t really watch the match – they were immersed in their phones. And then they suddenly started yelling at my errors at a very calm moment, when there were very even rallies, and the ball just hit the net. And it’s not that I showed some kind of disrespect to Ilya and I allowed myself to shout “Come on!” too loudly when I scored a point or something. I don’t know what it was all about. So I had to go up and tell those guys that if they want to continue to watch the match, then they’d better behave themselves or else they would simply be escorted out of the arena. They seemed to have gotten the message. Therefore, when the security officers approached them later I told them to let them stay.

How often do you have to deal with such situations on the court?

It was the first time ever.

Can we say that you and Ilya have a similar game style? You both have very powerful strokes, you both play low over the net, so you had a real clash.

No, our styles are completely different. Today we’ve had many long rallies because Ilya moves very well and plays well from the baseline. From my point of view, it’s real tennis, where it matters with what strength you play, how accurately, how you defend, where you will place the next ball. But our game styles are completely different: his backhand is much better and more aggressive, my forehand is much better, and although we serve at the same level, he moves better.

Not so long ago you said that you didn’t want to think far ahead, so that it would not work out, as in Moscow, where you lost the opening match. Now you won the opening match, so do you feel more confident here in St. Petersburg?

Yes, because I was not sure that the match against Ivashka would be successful for me. And I am very glad that I was able to win it, I was able to show a good game, so now we will see what happens next.

What caused your uncertainty about this match? Was it the fact that Ivashka is now in such good shape?

Yes, that’s exactly it. He’s in a very good shape. I know him very well, we practice together. I see how he plays, how he works, I see how he thinks, and considering my recent matches, I didn’t believe that I would be able to win. And I’m really happy that I did.

What did you say to each other at the net during the handshake, if it’s not a secret?

I just said: “Ilya, you did really well, you played incredibly, keep going in the same direction, and you will be a top player for sure.”

At this tournament you are playing doubles with Karen Khachanov, can this be considered as a preparation for the Davis Cup? And have you discussed with the other players who can supposedly play doubles in the national team?

No, we haven’t discussed it. It is still a long way to got. And with Karen we have been playing in doubles for many years. Aslan Karatsev thinks best in doubles, but who of us will partner with him is am open question for the team. We have two, or actually three options for the doubles’ line-up.

Could you, please, designate, what are these three options? Rublev – Karatsev, Rublev – Khachanov and Khachanov – Karatsev?

Yes, as for me, all these three options will work.

What do you think of your next opponents? It could be Botic van de Zandschulp or Sebastian Korda. What do you know about them?

The first player – van de Zandschulp – I don’t know him at all. I heard about him, I know that Daniil Medvedev beat him in four sets at the US Open. But I don’t know his game, and I can’t pronounce his last name either (laughter).

The ATP website says that you played against him in qualification in Rotterdam in 2017.

Oh yeah, now I remember, he defeated me. Yes, I remember that I lost to some Dutchman. So it was him… And as for Korda, I can say that he is a talented young player who is now progressing at the peak of his shape. We met once on the court before, and it was a tough match. Let’s see how it goes this time.

 

Title sponsor

Official partnes

General media partners

С  24 ПО 31 ОКТЯБРЯ 2021 ГОДА НА КСК «СИБУР АРЕНА

ru
  • Ru
  • En
TV эфир Радио
Официальный хештег #FORMULATX

АНДРЕЙ РУБЛЁВ: «СЕГОДНЯ МЫ С ИЛЬЕЙ ОБА ИГРАЛИ НА ОЧЕНЬ ВЫСОКОМ УРОВНЕ»

Какие-то проблемы для вас создавал в сегодняшнем поединке Илья Ивашко? Или это такой классический выигрыш со счетом 6/4, 6/4?

Нет, это был очень-очень тяжелый матч. Начиная с первого гейма, были очень затяжные розыгрыши. Все было очень нервно, эмоционально. По-моему, мы оба играли на очень высоком уровне. Не знаю, как это видел Илья, но я точно это видел на очень высоком уровне. У нас, по-моему, был счет 3/2 в первом сете, а мы играли уже полчаса – это показатель того, что борьба идет очень серьезная за каждый мяч. У меня были брейк-пойнты, у него были брейк-пойнты — первый сет мы играли прямо на равных. Как у него было много шансов, так и у меня. Просто какие-то миллиметры сложились в мою сторону.

Во время этого матча у вас произошел неприятный эпизод с одним болельщиком, поддерживавшим Ивашко: в какой-то момент он настолько активно кричал и аплодировал на ваши ошибки, что вам даже пришлось подойти и сделать ему замечание. Расскажите, пожалуйста, что произошло?

Это было очень странно: один болельщик сидел со своей спутницей, причем оба они были погружены в свои телефоны, а кричать на мои ошибки начали в очень спокойный момент, когда были очень ровные розыгрыши, мяч просто попал в сетку. Причем не то, чтобы я себе до этого позволил как-то излишне громко крикнуть «Come on!», когда выигрывал очко у Ильи или что-то еще такое.  И мне пришлось подойти и сказать этому парню, что если они хотят продолжать болеть и смотреть игру, то нужно вести себя достойно, иначе их просто выведут с арены. Они вроде прислушались. Поэтому, когда к ним позже подошли сотрудники охраны, я сказал, чтобы их не трогали.

Часто ли вам приходится разрешать такие ситуации на корте?

Нет, это было впервые.

Можно ли сказать, что у вас с Ильей схожий стиль игры? Вы оба любите сильно бить, играть низко над сеткой и сегодня показали настоящую дуэль.

Нет, наши стили совсем разные. Сегодня получилось много длинных розыгрышей, потому что Илья очень хорошо двигается и хорошо играет с задней линии. С моей точки зрения, был настоящий теннис, где важно с какой силой ты играешь, насколько точно, как ты защищаешься, куда ты сыграешь следующий мяч. Но стили игры у нас абсолютно разные: у него намного лучше и агрессивнее удар слева, у меня намного лучше удар справа, и хотя мы одинаково подаем, он лучше двигается.

Не так давно вы сказали, что не хотите далеко загадывать вперед, чтобы не получилось, как в Москве, где вы проиграли стартовый матч. Теперь стартовый матч позади, появилась ли у вас уверенность здесь, в Петербурге?

Да, потому что у меня не было уверенности, что этот матч сложится удачно для меня. И я очень рад, что смог его выиграть, смог показать хорошую игру, поэтому теперь мы посмотрим, что будет дальше.

А чем вызвана ваша неуверенность относительно этого матча? Тем, что Ивашко сейчас в такой хорошей форме?

Да, именно этим. Он в очень хорошей форме. Я его отлично знаю, мы с ним тренируемся. Я вижу, как он играет, как он работает, вижу, как он мыслит, и, учитывая мои последние игры, я не верил, что у меня получится выиграть. И теперь я безумно рад.

Что вы сказали друг другу у сетки во время рукопожатия, если не секрет?

Я просто сказал: «Илюха, ты красавчик, ты нереально играешь, продолжай в том же направлении, и ты будешь в топе игроков».

На этом турнире вы еще играете пару с Кареном Хачановым, можно ли это рассматривать как подготовку к Кубку Дэвиса? И вы обсуждали ли с другими игроками, кто с кем предположительно может пару сыграть?

Нет, мы не обсуждали. Во-первых, до этого еще долго. А с Кареном мы уже много лет играем. Лучше всего в паре мыслит Аслан Карацев, но вот с кем его из нас ставить – это уже вопрос к команде. У нас два, точнее, теперь три варианта в паре.

Поясните, пожалуйста, что это за три варианта? Рублев – Карацев, Рублев – Хачанов и Хачанов – Карацев?

Да, как по мне, все три варианта подходят.

Что вы думаете о своих следующих соперниках? Это может быть Ботик Ван де Зандсхульп или Себастьян Корда. Что вы о них знаете?

Первого игрока — Ван де Зандсхульп — его я вообще не знаю. Слышал о нем, знаю, что Даниил Медведев обыграл его в четырех сетах на US Open. Но я не знаю его игру, и выговорить его фамилию тоже пока не могу (смеется).

На сайте АТР написано, что вы играли с ним в квалификации в Роттердаме в 2017 году.

Ах да, теперь помню, я проиграл. Да, помню, что проиграл какому-то голландцу. Значит это был Ван де Зандсхульп… А про Корду могу сказать, что он талантливый молодой парень, который на пике своей формы сейчас и прогрессирует. Посмотрим, мы с ним один раз играли. Это был тяжелый матч.

Последние новости Все новости

Титульный
спонсор

Официальные партнеры

Генеральные информационные
партнеры

Партнеры